Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The berry pickers : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The berry pickers : a novel / Amanda Peters.

Peters, Amanda, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 1646221958
  • ISBN: 9781646221950
  • Physical Description: 307 pages : map ; 24 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Catapult, 2023.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Missing children > Fiction.
Micmac Indians > Fiction.
Family secrets > Fiction.
Foreign workers > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Maine > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 16 of 63 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Terryville Public Library.

Holds

  • 29 current holds with 63 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Terryville Public Library F PET (Text) 34028154966247 Adult Fiction On holds shelf -


Additional Resources